Here I Am

I’ve been here two and a half-ish days now. The weirdest thing is, at the moment it’s actually quite warm, I guess I can’t expect it to be cold all year though. Also the humidity is messing with me, it makes the heat so much worse (and it’s not even that humid).

For the first week here I’m at a language camp with ~120 other exchange students. We’ve been having Finnish lessons and generally having a great time.

I’m about to head off for my second sauna (pronounced sow-na not saw-na, silly people). The main difference from ones we have in Canada is that it is traditional to go naked. Most of us got into the traditional swing of things right away, and when you’re in a sauna it doesn’t matter that you are naked and close together, it’s just how it’s done. They do have different saunas for male and female, but if you were just going with your group of friends you would probably go co-ed.

Anyhoo, I’ll post more later. For y’all in Kanada, hyvää huomenta (good morning) and here in Finland it’s hyvää iltaa and almost hyvää yöta.

~ by end720 on August 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “Here I Am”

  1. Are you saying you’re not wearing the swimsuit I hand-crocheted for you???

  2. Hi there Dylan,
    Hope you are enjoying your journey so far. Can’t wait to hear the stories that are associated with your pin trading. Tell them what a great country Canada is and how cool Mika Kippersoft is for the Calgary Flames. He is a Finnish hero. Enjoy learning a new language….that is very cool. I will be praying for you. Cheers man. Cheryl

Leave a Reply

 
